How-To: Get Around Conflicts Between Back to My Mac and Time Machine

Posted by:
Date: Tuesday, March 17th, 2009, 08:10
Category: How-To

eltimemachine.jpg
As nifty as Time Machine is, a number of users seem to be running into problems where the “Change Disk…” option for Time Machine is nonfunctional.
Over on the Apple Discussion Board, user Joel_H offered the following description of the issue:

“(After switching TM disks) I realized there were still things on my time capsule backup that were no longer on my G-Raid2, so I switched drives in Time Machine and restored what I needed. I then tried to switch back, and the “Change Disk…” button is depressing but not responding.”

According to MacFixIt, users encountering this issue may have first tried changing their Time Machine setup for Time Capsule devices (i.e.: from Wireless to Wired connectivity), but a few people have noticed this may happen if the Time Machine backup volume has its name changed. One workaround users have tried, which has met with some success, is deleting the Time Machine preferences and then reselecting the drive. This seems to only be a temporary fix and the problem returns after a period of time.
The issue appears to be related to Apple’s MobileMe services and tends to rear its ugly head when the Back to My Mac option is enabled. Console error messages for this problem indicate a potential conflict with Bonjour networking, which Back To My Mac uses. For now, the available workaround for this problem is to turn off Back To My Mac.
Other workarounds include the following steps:

1. Turn off Back To My Mac.
To turn off Back To My Mac, click the “stop” button in the “Back To My Mac” section of the MobileMe system preferences. This should enable the “Choose Disk” button in the Time Machine setup again.
2. Remove Back To My Mac preferences.
This problem could be from corruption in the “Back To My Mac” preference files. As such, removing the Back To My Mac preferences may also help. The preference file is called “com.apple.BackToMyMac.plist,” and is located in the /Macintosh HD/Library/Preferences folder.

Stay tuned for additional information as it becomes available and if you’ve seen this issue on your end, please let us know in the comments or forums.


eltimemachine.jpg
As nifty as Time Machine is, a number of users seem to be running into problems where the “Change Disk…” option for Time Machine is nonfunctional.
Over on the Apple Discussion Board, user Joel_H offered the following description of the issue:

“(After switching TM disks) I realized there were still things on my time capsule backup that were no longer on my G-Raid2, so I switched drives in Time Machine and restored what I needed. I then tried to switch back, and the “Change Disk…” button is depressing but not responding.”

According to MacFixIt, users encountering this issue may have first tried changing their Time Machine setup for Time Capsule devices (i.e.: from Wireless to Wired connectivity), but a few people have noticed this may happen if the Time Machine backup volume has its name changed. One workaround users have tried, which has met with some success, is deleting the Time Machine preferences and then reselecting the drive. This seems to only be a temporary fix and the problem returns after a period of time.
The issue appears to be related to Apple’s MobileMe services and tends to rear its ugly head when the Back to My Mac option is enabled. Console error messages for this problem indicate a potential conflict with Bonjour networking, which Back To My Mac uses. For now, the available workaround for this problem is to turn off Back To My Mac.
Other workarounds include the following steps:

1. Turn off Back To My Mac.
To turn off Back To My Mac, click the “stop” button in the “Back To My Mac” section of the MobileMe system preferences. This should enable the “Choose Disk” button in the Time Machine setup again.
2. Remove Back To My Mac preferences.
This problem could be from corruption in the “Back To My Mac” preference files. As such, removing the Back To My Mac preferences may also help. The preference file is called “com.apple.BackToMyMac.plist,” and is located in the /Macintosh HD/Library/Preferences folder.

Stay tuned for additional information as it becomes available and if you’ve seen this issue on your end, please let us know in the comments or forums.

Recent Posts